Top Menu


The first Postgraduate Executive position began in 2003 and it is now in its eighth successive term (2017-2018). In 2013, the Postgraduate Sub-Committee was established by the then Postgraduate Executive Representative, Karen Soldatic, for the term 2014 – 2015. Key areas of focus for the sub-committee include international networks with similar postgraduate organisations, TASA Postgraduate web strategies and information, and postgraduate transitions to employment. Since forming, the committee have worked together on several projects including this new website. The Postgraduate sub-committee Terms of Reference can be accessed here.

TASA hold committee Elections every 2 years. The next one is scheduled for mid 2018 for 2019-2020 Executive positions. The current TASA Executive committee can be viewed below.

If you are interested in being a part of the Postgraduate Sub-Committee (2017 – 2018) or would like to stand for the next Postgraduate Portfolio Leader position (2019 – 2020), please contact one of the current postgraduate committee members listed below:


2017-2018 Postgraduate Portfolio Leader (elected)

Ashleigh Watson


Ashleigh is a current PhD candidate at Griffith University and a 2017 Endeavour Research Fellow at Goldsmiths, University of London. Her research explores narrative and fiction in society as well as in sociology. She is interested in cultural and public sociology, ethnography and arts-based research. Ashleigh tweets at @awtsn.

Contact Ashleigh at


Postgraduate Sub-Committee (self-nominated)

Ben Lohmeyer


Ben Lohmeyer is a PhD candidate at Flinders University. Positioned within a critical sociology of youth Ben’s PhD project focusses on the governing of young people and violence. Through semi-structured interviews with young people involved in child protection, juvenile justice and political activism he is exploring their experience of neoliberal violence. Ben also a lecturer in the School of Humanities and Social Sciences at Tabor College. He tweets at @LohmeyerBen.


Josie Anne Reade

Photograph - Josie Anne Reade

Josie Anne Reade is a Doctor of Philosophy candidate at the Youth Research Centre in the Melbourne Graduate School of Education, The University of Melbourne. Her research interests include the body, gender, social media and innovative methodologies. Josie’s current work engages with feminist new materialism and the concepts of assemblage and affect to investigate the experiences and practices of ‘fitspirational’ bodies, and the identities constituted in digital-material ‘fitspo’ assemblages. She tweets at @JosieAnneReade.


Zoei Sutton


Zoei Sutton is a PhD Candidate and Sessional Academic at Flinders University in the school of Social and Policy Studies. Her doctoral research examines the creation and navigation of human-companion animal relationships. Research interests include human animal studies, critical animal studies and species inclusive research. Zoei tweets at @zoei_Sutton.


Milovan Savic

unnamed (1)

Milovan Savic is a PhD candidate at the Swinburne University of Technology. His research interests include social media, young people, digital parenting, digital youth cultures and digital citizenship. Milovan’s current project is a qualitative study looking at how parents and their pre-teen and teen children negotiate use of social media within the family context. He tweets @nav0lim.